Who We Are

Who We Are

We’re very excited to announce our founding board of directors, a group of esteemed  Philadelphia professionals and educators, without whom our efforts and services would not be possible.


Founder and CEO

Gail Silver, JD, E-RYT, RYT, RCYT, YACEP

Gail Silver founded The School Mindfulness Project® in 2016 after fifteen years as Founder and Director of Philadelphia’s Yoga Child. As director of Yoga Child, Gail developed its school-based yoga and mindfulness curriculum, training programs and trained educators to teach yoga and mindfulness in Philadelphia schools. Gail is also the author of the award winning Anh’s Anger Children’s book trilogy. Lauded by Publisher’s Weekly as “A Winning Series,” the trilogy teaches children to navigate their stronger emotions through mindfulness and meditation. Gail has been teaching yoga and mindfulness to children and adults since 1999, providing students with the knowledge and skills to integrate mindfulness and yoga into their lives, both on and off the mat.

A contributing writer to Lions Roar and screenwriter of the animated family film, Planting Seeds of Mindfulness, Gail travels nationally and internationally to facilitate yoga and mindfulness based education and trainings. Prior to becoming a mindfulness educator, Gail was a child advocate attorney for the Defender Association of Philadelphia.

Gail and her written work have earned a steady stream of accolades and recognition, including Best of Philadelphia awards, a Parents Choice Recommended award, and a Skipping Stones award for Multicultural Awareness.  Learn more about Gail on The Yoga Stories Project, and through her recent article for Lion’s Roar, How To Practice Metta With Children.

Gail Silver, Founder & CEO School Mindfulness Project

Officers and Directors

President:  Bidi McSorely, M.D.
Vice President:  Katayun Jaffari, Esquire
Treasurer:  Bidi McSorely, M.D.
Secretary:  Hally Bayer


Board Members

Marsha I. Cohen, Esquire

Esther Wyss-Flamm, Ph.D, M.Ed, E-RYT

Rachel Sigman

Hally Bayer

Laura P. Heacock, Esquire

Chris Martin

Commitees  And Teams

Programs & Research          
Bidi McSorely, MD,
Jessica Listino,
Jennie Huang

Mark Gittleman, Esquire,
Bidi McSorely, M.D.

Marketing & Fundraising      
Trisha Javayulas,  
Kelly Bielby,
Laura Heacock, Esq.
Jessica Listino

Strategic Planning                  
ESther Wyss-Flamm, Ph.D, MEd

SMP Educators and Yoga Teachers

 Coming Soon




The School Mindfulness Project® is a 501(c)(3) organization.

The School Mindfulness Project®  is located in Philadelphia, PA 19147 and provides services to schools in Philadelphia and the Greater Philadelphia region.